Please Note. Website is still undergoing constructions, contents are being developed everyday

Messengers and Prophets of Allah (swt)

Throughout the ages, Allah has sent Prophets and Messengers to people all over the world. The Messengers and Prophets of Allah were simply men upon whom Allah had conferred His inspiration. Having stressed the point that the Prophets and Messengers were only men, it needs to be also stressed that the prophets were men of extraordinary character, morally upright, and extremely high in piety, spirituality, and faith. They are the best among humanity. They were protected by Allah from falling into cardinal, major sins.  They did not err or commit mistakes in delivering the message. They were God’s worshipping slaves. They did not have the power to make anyone accept their message or to forgive sins. Their knowledge of future was limited to what God revealed to them. 

The Prophets and Messengers were individuals who were chosen by Allah to receive revelation from Him and conveyed it to the people. They were sent to humanity to return people to monotheism, to serve as living practical examples of how to surrender to Allah, and to guide people to the path of salvation. None of the Prophets and Messengers share in any part of God’s divinity. It is forbidden to worship them or to use them as a conduit to God. A Muslim should never invoke them, make supplications to them, or seek God’s mercy and forgiveness through or from them.

The key message brought by all Prophets was the same: to believe in One God and not to associate partners with Him, to stay away from sins and to lead a life devoted to earning God’s pleasure.

 All the Prophets and Messengers of Allah brought the teachings of Islam. Throughout history all who submitted to the will of God and followed God’s revelation sent to the Prophets and Messengers of their time are considered Muslims.  As time passed, earlier revelations were sometimes abrogated, modified, or expanded.  The Prophets, from Adam to Muhammad, were all brothers in faith. They all called people to the same truth.

A Muslim must believe and have respect for all of the Prophets and Messengers sent by Allah. There are at least twenty-five (25) Prophets mentioned in the Qur'an. These Prophets are: Adam, Enoch (Idrees), Noah, Lot, Yunus (Jonah), Abraham, Isaac, Ishmael, David, Solomon, Jacob, Joseph, Zachariya, Elias (Elijah), Eliasa' (Elisha), Yousha (Joshua), Salih (Salah or Shelah), Shuaib, Ayoub (Job), Dhul-Kifl (Ezekiel), Hud (Eber or Heber), Aaron, Moses, John (the Baptist), Jesus, Muhammad.  (Peace be upon them all) But there are more apart from the ones just mentioned.

Muhammad has the distinction of being God’s final Messenger and the Seal of the Prophets. The reason for this is, firstly, because Allah completed His revelations to humanity and perfectly preserved them forever in the Qur’an, and second, His final Prophet and Messenger led an exemplary life for the twenty-three years of his Prophethood, establishing clear guidelines for all generations to follow. Allah says in the Qur’an that no Prophet or Messenger will come after him. This is the reason Muhammad is known as the Seal of the Prophets. This means the divine law that was revealed and embodied in the teachings of Prophet Muhammad is for all of humanity until the Day of Resurrection (Day of Judgment).

 It is obligatory to believe in Muhammad and the laws that have been revealed through him.

Although Muslims believe in all the Prophets and Messengers of Allah, they follow and emulate the teachings and example of the final Messenger Muhammad only.

 Print  Email


Find Us

Contact Us

  • Islam Awareness Project, East London Mosque, 82-92 Whitechapel Road London E1 1JQ
  • +44 207 650 3028
  • Contact Us

Keep in Touch